Adelle McClendon Young Leader Scholarship

OlsenThe 2015 Adelle McClendon Young Lead Scholarship Award winner is Marianne Olsen. She is a senior at Taylor High School in Katy ISD and plans to attend Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and major in Mechanical Engineering. Ms. Olsen plans to attend the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and major in Mechanical Engineering. Her accomplishments include founding Taylor High School’s F.I.R.S.T. Robotics team, being a National Merit Scholarship Finalist and participating in a wide variety of extracurricular activities including Science Club, Choir, University Interscholastic League Academics and National Honor Society. One of Ms. Olsen’s recommendation letters stated “I can sincerely say that she is, without a doubt, the most hard working, driven, and capable young woman that I have ever had the opportunity to meet.”

The Adelle McClendon Young Leader Scholarship honors the memory of a noted leader in gifted education. In addition to serving as President of the TAGT Executive Board in 1991, Adelle was passionate about developing leadership potential. She served as the coordinator of gifted programs for Cypress-Fairbanks ISD and was involved in the Texas Academic Decathlon and the Odyssey of the Mind competitions. This $2500 annual award is given to a graduating G/T high school senior who has demonstrated outstanding leadership. This scholarship ensures that her influence on young people will continue.

Past Recipients

  • 2014: Valerie Huynh, graduate of the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science in University of North Texas, attended Stanford University
  • 2013: Grace Li, graduate of Glenda Dawson High School in Pearland ISD, attended Duke University
  • 2012: Neerja Aggarwal, graduate of Hightower High School in Fort Bend ISD, attended MIT and, thanks to a generous donation from the West Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented, Christina Marisa Mier, graduate of Burges High School in El Paso ISD, attended the University of Texas at Austin
  • 2011: Brandon Wood, graduate of Denison High School in Denison ISD, attended Baylor University
  • 2010: Lindsay Langford, graduate of James E. Taylor High School in Katy ISD, attended Rice University
  • 2009: Marc Sabbagh, graduate of Kempner High School in Fort Bend ISD, attended Rice University
  • 2008: Keenan May, graduate of L.V. Hightower High School in Fort Bend ISD, attended Rice University
  • 2007: Stephanie Strauss, graduate of Robert E. Lee High School in Midland ISD, attended Yale University
  • 2006: Michelle Eilers, graduate of Schulenberg High School in Schulenberg ISD, attended Tufts University
  • 2005: Leslie Dyke, graduate of McAllen High School in McAllen ISD, attended Harvard University

Adelle McClendon Young Leader Scholarship

  • One $2,500 award given annually
  • For a graduating, gifted high-school senior towards college tuition
  • Applicants must have demonstrated outstanding leadership potential

K-12 Summer Enrichment Programs (TAGT does not sponsor, endorse or produce any summer programs)

Frequently Asked Questions

Donate to the TAGT Scholarship Fund!