TAGT Awards

TAGT honors outstanding individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the gifted community in Texas through an annual statewide awards program. TAGT recognizes exceptional support of gifted education in five categories: Teacher of the Gifted, Rising Star Teacher of the Gifted, Administrator of the Gifted, Advocate for the Gifted and Parent of the Gifted. The awards are presented in recognition of service, contribution and commitment to gifted education. This is a great opportunity to have outstanding service in Texas districts and schools highlighted by the largest state G/T organization in the nation. One state winner is selected from up to five area award winners, based on geographic delineation.

Nominations forms for each category are due by May 23, 2014! 

The 2013 state honorees by category are: 

  • TAGT State Teacher of the Gifted Award is Dianne Fowler, G/T Specialist at Travis Science Academy (Little Wildcat GATE Center) in Temple ISD. Fowler assesses the nature and needs of her gifted students and then finds ways to meet those needs. Her creativity encourages students to flourish in the classroom.
  • TAGT State Rising Star Teacher of the Gifted Award is Jennifer Crisp, Elementary Enrichment Specialist for Abilene Christian Schools. In her position at Abilene Christian Schools, Crisp initiated a program to serve the needs of gifted and high achieving learners. Her work empowers teachers to use a variety of tools to differentiate within their classroom.
  • TAGT State Advocate for the Gifted Award is Dr. Susan Johnsen, Director of Gifted Programs at Baylor University. A Waco ISD parent mentioned in her recommendation letter that because of Dr. Johnsen’s efforts, ideas and partnerships, teachers in the community are offered more opportunities to learn, both about their students and news ways to do things in the classroom.
  • TAGT/TAMS State Administrator of the Gifted Award is Michelle Swain, Director of Gifted and Advanced Academic Services at Round Rock ISD. Swain coordinates gifted programming for Round Rock ISD, including identification and services, staff development, collaboration with the TAG parent organization and supports campus TAGT specialists.
  • TAGT State Parent of the Gifted Award is David Brown, a parent advocate for El Paso ISD. In his nomination it was stated that “David has significantly impacted gifted education in the greater El Paso area. His presence continually encourages shared leadership and participation amongst a variety of groups and communities.”

Click here to see a full list of 2013 State and Area Award Winners (PDF)

Nominees are not required to be members of TAGT; we simply want to recognize outstanding work being done on behalf of the gifted community.

TAGT Awards Night
TAGT will recognize all State and Area Award recipients during the 2014 Annual Conference, December 3-5 in Fort Worth.

TAGT State Awards
Members of the TAGT Membership and Parent Involvement Committee review the nomination materials of all Area Award winners. From that pool, the TAGT State Award Winners are selected in all five categories.

All State Award winners are honored at the TAGT Annual Conference. They receive a plaque, a two-day complementary registration and two nights of hotel accommodations. The TAGT Teacher of the Gifted receives a $1,000 award from the Association. The TAGT Parent of the Gifted, Advocate of the Gifted and Rising Star Teacher of the Gifted each receive a lifetime membership to TAGT, valued at $500. The TAGT/TAMS State Administrator of the Gifted receives an award determined by the sponsor, the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science.